Oaxaca, Mexico Mission

WOW, a lot has happened this week!  I got my Visa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And I got my travel plans yesterday and I am so excited. We are leaving Monday morning at 7:30 and our flight leaves at noon.  We are going to the Dallas Airport first, and we have a six-hour lay over there–time to preach the gospel and study.  Then we fly to Oaxaca and arrive at 8 or 9 pm, so it will be a day of traveling.  The flights are only 2 to 3 hours each, so it’s not a long flight at all.

We went up to the Mexican Consulate on Wednesday and it was in Salt Lake, so we all got on the Front Runner and rode up.  While we were on the Front Runner we went by Dad’s work and Rachael’s too, so that was fun.  On our way back from the Consulate at the train station, Elder Christian were talking to some guys about rock climbing and then one of the guys mentioned all these big rock climbers who have died climbing; he went on to say that he didn’t know what was going to happen after this life when he dies. Once he said that, Elder Christiansen and I looked at each other and I have never been more scared in my life!!   But we talked to him a little and gave him a pass along card with the missionaries numbers on it and he said he wanted us to teach him and not some other missionaries.  It was a really good learning experience.  I was scared to death though!! I know that’s something I need to work on and overcome.

The choir here is amazing!  We are singing this Sunday in an MTC-wide Sacrament Meeting, and an Apostle is going to come and speak to us so I am really excited.

Yesterday we found out a missionary in our district is going home. We were all shocked.  No one expected it at all because he has been amazing and has helped me a lot with my testimony and has brought me closer to Christ.  I am most amazed about how he has handled the situation even though he knows he is going home he is still working as hard as he can.  When he told us all we were all in the class room and we didn’t feel like he should go, but that’s what the Lord wants him to do. We were all in the class crying because we love him and I am sad because of how he feels, but he bore his testimony about the atonement after we all said something and I have never heard a stronger testimony of the Atonement!  It was powerful; he knows his Savior and what the atonement can do. We are all going to write him and he is going to come back out and serve in Oaxaca. I know he is needed else where though.

I can’t wait to go to Mexico, but at the same time I am scared.  I can’t wait to overcome that and I’m trying to right now.  That’s so exciting that Becca read the Book of Mormon – she is awesome!  I am blessed to be a part of this family; everyone is strong in the gospel and loves the Lord.  Are you all getting ready for conference?

Love you,

Elder Moore

Leave a comment