Oaxaca, Mexico Mission

I just received a new native companion.  This is what I have been praying for to help me with the language. My Spanish is going to get a lot better! his name is Elder Torres and he is from Mexico City. He speaks a little English so I am going to help him with that and he is going to help me with Spanish.  It’s going to be hard, but that’s the only way I can grow. When I Skype with the family in December I will be able to speak with you in Spanish.

I love my mission. I love this Gospel and I love the Atonement!

Dad, thank you for sharing with me your experiences from your mission; they have helped me a lot!  The mission is really hard and the biggest thing is just learning how to adapt because everything is always changing, but the nice thing is the gospel always stays the same. I am learning how to rely and focus everything on the Lord because I know that without Him and His love I am nothing. I have never felt His love or needed it more in my life than I do right now.

Well, like Keith says, read the Book of Mormon and go to the temple.”

Love you all

Elder Moore

Here are pictures we took of Christopher and Keith when Skyping ‘Moore Zone Conference style’ on Mothers Day:
IMG_9058 IMG_9063
Comments on: "Nuevo Companero del DF (New Companion from Mexico City)" (1)

  1. Garry K Moore said:

    Christopher,

    Estás aprendiendo mucho y en forma rápida. En Ingles diríamos “You are drinking from a fire hose or you are trying to catch water from the fire hose using your teacup”. La mision es un gran colegio y no hay tal cosa como “comfort zone”. You are off to a great start. When I served they didn’t have the MTC for language learning so I started with my wonderful Spanish vocabulary of “taco, enchilada, y tamale” and had to work my way up from there. Nothing worthwhile comes easy and if it does we usually don’t appreciate it—for example clean clothes already in our drawers r closet, a car, being able to drink water anywhere, a nice bedroom, etc. Enjoy the process and not just think about the destination!!
    We are really proud of you.

    Adelante con ojo de fe y guido por el espiritu
    Un abrazo fuerte
    Grandpa

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

