Oaxaca, Mexico Mission

Grace for Grace

Below are some pics of my area and the sky and also a pic of some of the Elders in my generation (mission group). We saw each other at a conference we had last week in Salina Cruz. It was a really good conference – I love the message President shared with us. He talked about how we are the leaders in this world; the world doesn’t know that, but one day they will.  We just need to do our part right now! And then I thought of something I studied a little bit ago in 2 Nefi 25:23,26 it talks about how we are saved by grace.

We have all read or listened to the talk of Brad Wilcox when he explains grace so well, so we can understand this power in our lives. Later I was reading  in DyC 93 how Christ grew, and how he grew grace for grace.  If we keep reading in that section we read in verse 20, “For if you keep my commandments you shall receive of his fullness, and be glorified in me as I am in the Father; therefore, I say unto you, you shall receive grace for grace.” So in this chapter we understand how we need to progress and–no surprise–it is exactly how Christ progressed: grace for grace. But this is two fold: we receive grace and in order to receive more we need to give grace. It’s really quit simple – we get help from above and as we do that, that is when we begin to grow.  

As I am trying to do that and figure it out a little more each day, I receive joy! I love that! It is a formula to be happy in this life and in the eternities. No wonder people like to go to the temple or serve missions because they are helping some one else do something that they can’t do themselves. In other words, they are giving and receiving. But when we recieve we need to give more. God gives so we can bless his children. So, as Nefi writes: “For we labor diligently to write, to persuade our children, and also our brethren, to believe in Christ, and to be reconciled to God; for we know that it is by grace that we are saved, after all we can do.”

While reading the scriptures I have realized how I can use the atonement to be at one with God. Nefi and all the prophets are helping me understand they are still serving me through what they did so long ago. I don’t understand it perfectly, what Christ did for me — but i do accept it by faith.  And as I think about it I can only think of the song, “I stand all amazed at the love Jesus offers me, confused at the grace that so fully he proffers me.”
The gospel is amazing. And I love my Savior. Love you all and keep reading and going to the temple.
Elder Moore
Christopher with Elders from his mission entry group El cielo en Huatulco
Comments on: "Grace for Grace" (1)

  1. Querido Elder Christopher,
    Me impresiona el entendimiento de la expiación que estas logrando. Te va a servir de mucho durante toda la vida y aún en la eternidad. Hay que seguir aprovechando de las horas que tienes como misionero para estudiar y escudriñar las escrituras. Después de la misión se te hace un poco mas complicado tener un bloque de tiempo diariamente para estudiar las escrituras. Por lo tanto es importante que establezcas un hábito durante la misión y una meta de no dejar de hacerlo diariamente al terminar la misión.
    Te queremos mucho
    Un abrazo
    Tu abuelito

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

