Oaxaca, Mexico Mission

Thank you so much for the package!  I loved the pics, and enjoyed the decorations and Christmas candy. That’s super weird to hear that Becca is seriously dating boys.  And everyone is growing up.  Keith and Miriam looked the most changed during the call, but Keith looks super different with the long hair. I also hear that Kyle is tearing it up with 3 triple-doubles! And also Tyler. Pure Utah talent going hard – that’s what I like to hear. No way – Edward is home?! That is super weird. Now he will be laughing a ton with his two brothers. Everyone will start to come home soon. It’s going to be a big change.

Below is a picture of me in a pueblo outside of my area called St. Maria Huatulco. In the picture there is a dummy that they traditionally at the beginning of the New Year.  They burn it and it represents all the bad habits that they have and that they are going to change. That’s a tradition here in Oaxaca.

This week has been a little tough, but now everything is almost back to normal with vacations and everything.  Because there are a lot of tourists here, all the locals are super busy. But we talked with a few people and I actually contacted in English; I felt really weird and–to be honest–I don’t really like it. it just feels really unnatural talking about and preaching the gospel in English. I have really become accustomed to learning the gospel in Spanish.  The other day I looked in my English scriptures for the first time in a while and it is weird how they talk. So that was a new experience.
In addition to its challenges, this week had several highlights.  One of my favorite experiences was giving a blessing to one of the Hermanas (Sisters) in the zone.  She asked for a blessing of comfort because she needs some help right now.  When I gave her the blessing I felt the power of the Priesthood really strongly, and I knew the Lord put the words she needed to hear in my mouth, and that she felt the comfort that comes from the Priesthood.
It is fun helping and serving others when they need it. Keep looking for small ways to serve others. I know you guys do a great job with that.
Love you all!
Elder Moore
Christopher with companion and New Years dummy in St Maria
Comments on: "The Blessings & Challenges of Missionary Work at the Start of the Year" (2)

  1. Elder Moore,

    It’s always great to hear from you! Your letters bring back lots of memories (e.g., the difficulties of missionary work during Holidays and how weird it is to preach in English). Keep up the great work! Know of our love and support.

    Un abrazo,

    Dan

  2. Dear Elder Moore,
    We love your letters. It was fun to see the dummy that they burn. In Spain they build huge comiclike characters, as much as 20-30 feet high and the whole neighborhood or community comes together for a bonfire at the beginning of the new year. They also throw their old stuff on the bonfire after cleaning out their homes. It is quite a night of feasting and celebrating and you see whole families out in the streets until the wee hours.

    I know how weird the English seems. I find myself asking why the Lord used English to restore the gospel when he could have used any language. Then I have to ask what responsibility and what blessings I have because I was born English speaking. Think about it.

    We went to St. George to be with Ben and Britt’s families for the New Year’s week. It was wonderful to renew and strengthen those family ties. Everything about the gospel is for the purpose of making relationships in Christ eternal. I was with a sister yesterday that spends good time with her family but it is almost all fun and games and includes some pretty crude things. It isn’t just time together. It is time together with the Spirit confirming and deepening those relationships in the Lord. There is no other way.

    Sure are proud of you, Elder Moore. We’ve been missionaries together for a long time. It should never conclude.
    Love,
    Nana and Poppy

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

